Richard Ernst Prize 2017

Dear Colleague,

It is my pleasure and honor to announce the instauration of a new prize to be awarded in a yearly fashion at the European Magnetic Resonance (EUROMAR) conference. The “Richard R. Ernst Prize in Magnetic Resonance” (from here on the “Ernst Prize”) is named after magnetic resonance pioneer and Nobel Laureate Prof. Richard R. Ernst, and will be awarded to recognize ‘recent beneficial applications of Magnetic Resonance’. The Prize comes with a purse of 10,000 Euros; it is sponsored by the Bruker BioSpin Corporation, and it will be awarded at the inaugural session of our upcoming Euromar 2017 conference in July 2016 in Warsaw.

The Ernst Prize is intended to award achievements going beyond fundamental research, for groundbreaking applications of new or of previously known techniques in all areas of magnetic resonance. It is intended for research published within the last three years, although the origins of the ideas and experiments may have been described in previous publications.

In special cases, and at the discretion of the Prize Committee, the award may be for cumulative achievements over a longer period of time. The Ernst Prize is intended to be awarded to a single individual; however, it may be awarded to up to three scientists if the Prize Committee deems that their contributions to the development of the applications are of equal value.

The 2017 Ernst Prize committee is made by Profs. Lucia Banci (chair), Marina Bennati, Lucio Frydman, Patrick Giraudeau, Wiktor Koźmiński, Alex Pines and Thomas Vosegaard.

In preparation for this award, I am hereby contacting you requesting nominations for potential Ernst prize winners. These nominations must include and fulfill the following conditions:
  • Nominations must include the nominee's name, affiliation, address, phone number, and e-mail
  • Nominations must include the name of the nominator, affiliation, address, phone, and e‐mail
  • Nominations must include a brief (ca. 200 words) description of the work serving as the basis for the nomination, and a list of relevant publications (~5)
  • Nominees may not have received the Guenther Laukien Prize or the Russell Varian Prize in the preceding five years.
  • Self ‐ nominations are not accepted
  • Nominations will be received until February 15, 2017.

On behalf of the Euromar Board of Trustees and of the Ernst Prize Committee,
Lucio Frydman
Chair, Euromar Board of Trustees

EUROMAR AMPERE Centrum Nauk Biologiczno-Chemicznych Uniwersytetu Warszawskiego Uniwersytet Warszawski Wydział Chemii Uniwersytetu Warszawskiego Centre of New Technologies

Warsaw Tour

Platinum Partners

Gold Partners

Bronze Partners
Magritek Isotec Mestrelab



Armar Isotopes Rototec Spintec Cortecnet Eurisotop Silantes NMR Service Spin-Doc Oxford Instruments Wako Nanalysis Cryogenic

Other contributors
ACD Labs hilgenberg


The Journal of Magnetic Resonance is proud to support four fellows to attend the EUROMAR conference

Journal of Magnetic Resonance

Magnetic Resonance in Chemistry - Wiley Online Library

Journal of Magnetic Resonance

This website uses cookies to allow the registration of event participants and service related processes. By using this site you agree on use of cookies, according to the current browser settings.